MinMax Spaz

MinMax-Games.com

The water cooler of outer space
  
It is currently Thu 23 Nov, 2017 11:15 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Cheat Menu
PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep, 2012 5:18 pm 
Offline
Shortbus

Joined: Wed 26 Sep, 2012 5:07 pm
Posts: 4
Newbie to the forum, but I've been playing for a couple of weeks.

OK. I know cheating is somewhat frowned upon these days, but for me personally it has its place. Building a massive unsupportable metropolis in SimCity, just to crush it with a meteor or seven... Running around venting work frustrations on a bunch of imps and demons in Doom...

In SPAZABH I sometimes just want to get ahead of the game so I can nip out and FAZOOM some nasties while crying 'Take THAT, puny mortals! Feel my burny smashy wrath!'

I might have issues. And I digress...

I've read about some mystical cheat menu under Alt-F7, but I'm blowed if I can get it to do anything. I originally bought the game through Steam, but have recently got a second copy through the Humble Bundle. I've tried both editions (1.605), and I can hit Alt-F7 all I like - nothing appears to happen.

How to make cheaty happen, please? My god complex will be very happy with any help that can be offered.

(I'm enjoying the game progression so far and I'll keep my nefarious activites to another savegame, honest)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cheat Menu
PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep, 2012 5:50 pm 
Offline
Volley
User avatar

Joined: Wed 25 Apr, 2012 8:44 am
Posts: 611
I think for the cheat menu to appear you need to be around your mothership.
(I think! It's just a THEORY!!)

I am too noticing that alt-F7 isn't working otherwise.
(yes. I've messed around with it a bit to get some quick data on occasion)

_________________
My BigBeef mod, Quad Turret mod & Master Dredge base Mod.
Modding for MY OWN Pleasure. :twisted:
Please Help with LoBWaM (List of Base Weapons and Modules)
Official SPAZ mod package (v2.0) Cause people cant find links anymore


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cheat Menu
PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep, 2012 6:12 pm 
Offline
Shortbus

Joined: Wed 26 Sep, 2012 5:07 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks guys.

I tried the ALT-F7 combo near the mother ship, off out in space, while looking at the spacebar pause screen, and at the main menu. No joy :(

CheatEngine had also defeated me, but I'd left the thingy set to 4 bytes... I shall have a play :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cheat Menu
PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep, 2012 6:25 pm 
Offline
Hound
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:21 am
Posts: 1997
FYI, you must be in chapter 2 for the cheat menu to activate, it will break to many things if we let you cheat during tutorial phase.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cheat Menu
PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep, 2012 7:01 pm 
Offline
Shortbus

Joined: Wed 26 Sep, 2012 5:07 pm
Posts: 4
Richard wrote:
FYI, you must be in chapter 2 for the cheat menu to activate, it will break to many things if we let you cheat during tutorial phase.


A-ha! This is the key. I was starting a new game... Doing so and skipping the tutorial has worked the magic.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cheat Menu
PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep, 2012 7:34 pm 
Offline
Hound
User avatar

Joined: Sun 12 Feb, 2012 8:27 pm
Posts: 1058
Richard wrote:
FYI, you must be in chapter 2 for the cheat menu to activate, it will break to many things if we let you cheat during tutorial phase.

You've really thought about this more than I have. What things exactly would it break?

_________________
What makes me a good Specialist?
Well, if i was a bad Specialist, I wouldn't be sitting here, discussing it with you, now would I?

Professional Vanquisher of bots
+100% Banpower


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cheat Menu
PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep, 2012 8:08 pm 
Offline
Shortbus

Joined: Wed 26 Sep, 2012 5:07 pm
Posts: 4
EvilNinja wrote:
Richard wrote:
FYI, you must be in chapter 2 for the cheat menu to activate, it will break to many things if we let you cheat during tutorial phase.

You've really thought about this more than I have. What things exactly would it break?


From a programmer's perspective, I should imagine there's points in the tutorial that are triggered by the resources reaching certain levels. Getting your first 20 Rez, that sort of thing. Depending on how the tutorial script is written, it might break the progress if those things get overridden too mightily.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cheat Menu
PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep, 2012 8:15 pm 
Offline
Hound
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:21 am
Posts: 1997
That is exactly why we disable it during this time. We rely on you getting a levelup, rez, and goons naturally to trigger callbacks. Cheats sort of brute force change values and bypass all the pickup collection code, which all the callback systems are tied to. This is generally why you don't see cheats in games much anymore, or they pop up a big "proceed at your own risk" warning. Back in the DOOM days there wan't much in the way of a directed experience, so there wasn't much to break.

FYI, if you start a new game, and chose to skip tutorial, it should take you directly to the point where you can cheat.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cheat Menu
PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep, 2012 8:30 pm 
Offline
Hound
User avatar

Joined: Sun 12 Feb, 2012 8:27 pm
Posts: 1058
Ah. I see. I remember that mission where we had to gather 20 rez... everything now makes sense.

_________________
What makes me a good Specialist?
Well, if i was a bad Specialist, I wouldn't be sitting here, discussing it with you, now would I?

Professional Vanquisher of bots
+100% Banpower


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cheat Menu
PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep, 2012 8:36 pm 
Offline
Hound
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:21 am
Posts: 1997
Ya, that and I'm sure something else I can't even imagine ;) ... The early %10 of the game has more code than the rest of the game. We dare not disturb the tutorial gods.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cheat Menu
PostPosted: Sat 29 Sep, 2012 9:49 am 
Offline
Dart

Joined: Fri 28 Sep, 2012 5:09 pm
Posts: 19
I was trying to up the number of research points, without changing my level (and thus the influx rate of future research points), and while I could find an offset with Cheat Engine, it was apparently only link to the display, as it didn't let me buy any further research.

Does anyone have some insight?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cheat Menu
PostPosted: Sat 29 Sep, 2012 10:30 am 
Offline
Hound
User avatar

Joined: Sun 12 Feb, 2012 8:27 pm
Posts: 1058
As far as I know you get research points for leveling only... it would be OP if you didn't, and there'd be no point in implementing a way around it.

_________________
What makes me a good Specialist?
Well, if i was a bad Specialist, I wouldn't be sitting here, discussing it with you, now would I?

Professional Vanquisher of bots
+100% Banpower


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cheat Menu
PostPosted: Sat 29 Sep, 2012 2:52 pm 
Offline
Dart

Joined: Fri 28 Sep, 2012 5:09 pm
Posts: 19
Well, I am looking for a cheat, so I'm not sure if the OP thing applies :)

I'd like to give me research points now, but I'd still like to get future research points at the same rate.

If I just use the data cheat then in future I'll need 3-4 times as much data per level.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cheat Menu
PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct, 2012 5:27 am 
Offline
Dart
User avatar

Joined: Mon 30 Jul, 2012 5:34 am
Posts: 24
Y'know, i haven't bothered with the cheat menu at all...

I just load up the Christmas mod ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cheat Menu
PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct, 2012 5:17 pm 
Offline
Hatchet

Joined: Wed 13 Jun, 2012 6:56 pm
Posts: 151
if you ask me, it needs to be updated (different amount of rez,goons,data, etc etc)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cheat Menu
PostPosted: Thu 05 Dec, 2013 11:08 am 
Offline
Shortbus

Joined: Thu 17 Oct, 2013 7:28 pm
Posts: 3
Does this alt+F7 cheat menu work on mac??
:|


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group