MinMax-Games.com
http://www.minmax-games.com/forums/

Cheat Menu
http://www.minmax-games.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=3481
Page 1 of 1

Author:  moogthedog [ Wed 26 Sep, 2012 5:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Cheat Menu

Newbie to the forum, but I've been playing for a couple of weeks.

OK. I know cheating is somewhat frowned upon these days, but for me personally it has its place. Building a massive unsupportable metropolis in SimCity, just to crush it with a meteor or seven... Running around venting work frustrations on a bunch of imps and demons in Doom...

In SPAZABH I sometimes just want to get ahead of the game so I can nip out and FAZOOM some nasties while crying 'Take THAT, puny mortals! Feel my burny smashy wrath!'

I might have issues. And I digress...

I've read about some mystical cheat menu under Alt-F7, but I'm blowed if I can get it to do anything. I originally bought the game through Steam, but have recently got a second copy through the Humble Bundle. I've tried both editions (1.605), and I can hit Alt-F7 all I like - nothing appears to happen.

How to make cheaty happen, please? My god complex will be very happy with any help that can be offered.

(I'm enjoying the game progression so far and I'll keep my nefarious activites to another savegame, honest)

Author:  GTX2GvO [ Wed 26 Sep, 2012 5:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cheat Menu

I think for the cheat menu to appear you need to be around your mothership.
(I think! It's just a THEORY!!)

I am too noticing that alt-F7 isn't working otherwise.
(yes. I've messed around with it a bit to get some quick data on occasion)

Author:  moogthedog [ Wed 26 Sep, 2012 6:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cheat Menu

Thanks guys.

I tried the ALT-F7 combo near the mother ship, off out in space, while looking at the spacebar pause screen, and at the main menu. No joy :(

CheatEngine had also defeated me, but I'd left the thingy set to 4 bytes... I shall have a play :)

Author:  Richard [ Wed 26 Sep, 2012 6:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cheat Menu

FYI, you must be in chapter 2 for the cheat menu to activate, it will break to many things if we let you cheat during tutorial phase.

Author:  moogthedog [ Wed 26 Sep, 2012 7:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cheat Menu

Richard wrote:
FYI, you must be in chapter 2 for the cheat menu to activate, it will break to many things if we let you cheat during tutorial phase.


A-ha! This is the key. I was starting a new game... Doing so and skipping the tutorial has worked the magic.

Thanks!

Author:  EvilNinja [ Wed 26 Sep, 2012 7:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cheat Menu

Richard wrote:
FYI, you must be in chapter 2 for the cheat menu to activate, it will break to many things if we let you cheat during tutorial phase.

You've really thought about this more than I have. What things exactly would it break?

Author:  moogthedog [ Wed 26 Sep, 2012 8:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cheat Menu

EvilNinja wrote:
Richard wrote:
FYI, you must be in chapter 2 for the cheat menu to activate, it will break to many things if we let you cheat during tutorial phase.

You've really thought about this more than I have. What things exactly would it break?


From a programmer's perspective, I should imagine there's points in the tutorial that are triggered by the resources reaching certain levels. Getting your first 20 Rez, that sort of thing. Depending on how the tutorial script is written, it might break the progress if those things get overridden too mightily.

Author:  Richard [ Wed 26 Sep, 2012 8:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cheat Menu

That is exactly why we disable it during this time. We rely on you getting a levelup, rez, and goons naturally to trigger callbacks. Cheats sort of brute force change values and bypass all the pickup collection code, which all the callback systems are tied to. This is generally why you don't see cheats in games much anymore, or they pop up a big "proceed at your own risk" warning. Back in the DOOM days there wan't much in the way of a directed experience, so there wasn't much to break.

FYI, if you start a new game, and chose to skip tutorial, it should take you directly to the point where you can cheat.

Author:  EvilNinja [ Wed 26 Sep, 2012 8:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cheat Menu

Ah. I see. I remember that mission where we had to gather 20 rez... everything now makes sense.

Author:  Richard [ Wed 26 Sep, 2012 8:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cheat Menu

Ya, that and I'm sure something else I can't even imagine ;) ... The early %10 of the game has more code than the rest of the game. We dare not disturb the tutorial gods.

Author:  Lexx [ Sat 29 Sep, 2012 9:49 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Cheat Menu

I was trying to up the number of research points, without changing my level (and thus the influx rate of future research points), and while I could find an offset with Cheat Engine, it was apparently only link to the display, as it didn't let me buy any further research.

Does anyone have some insight?

Author:  EvilNinja [ Sat 29 Sep, 2012 10:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Cheat Menu

As far as I know you get research points for leveling only... it would be OP if you didn't, and there'd be no point in implementing a way around it.

Author:  Lexx [ Sat 29 Sep, 2012 2:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cheat Menu

Well, I am looking for a cheat, so I'm not sure if the OP thing applies :)

I'd like to give me research points now, but I'd still like to get future research points at the same rate.

If I just use the data cheat then in future I'll need 3-4 times as much data per level.

Author:  Jetstream [ Wed 03 Oct, 2012 5:27 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Cheat Menu

Y'know, i haven't bothered with the cheat menu at all...

I just load up the Christmas mod ;)

Author:  angles [ Sat 13 Oct, 2012 5:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cheat Menu

if you ask me, it needs to be updated (different amount of rez,goons,data, etc etc)

Author:  SmarkusH [ Thu 05 Dec, 2013 11:08 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Cheat Menu

Does this alt+F7 cheat menu work on mac??
:|

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/