MinMax Spaz

MinMax-Games.com

The water cooler of outer space
  
It is currently Sat 25 Nov, 2017 12:19 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Wed 18 May, 2011 5:51 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:39 am
Posts: 1767
Hi everyone, sorry for the problems you are having starting up. Impulse is trying to track down the cause. If the Demo works but the Beta does not for you, then you are struck by this bug. Fixing it is a very high priority for us and Impulse.

If you could do the following, it may help them track down the issue more quickly.

From Impulse:
We still haven’t found a common cause for the GOO startup errors. There are two things the developer has asked I gather up so he can troubleshoot further:

1. The contents of this Windows Registry Key: HKLM\Software\Microsoft\WindowsNT\CurrentVersion (A screenshot will do)

2. The contents of the SPAZ activation folder (C:\ProgramData\Indies\Space Pirates and Zombies\ on Vista/Win7)

Have users put the screenshot and the contents of that folder and have them email them to me (mikec@stardock.com) and I’ll get the files to our devs to see if they can puzzle out what’s happening.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Thu 19 May, 2011 3:39 pm 
Offline
Dart
User avatar

Joined: Wed 18 May, 2011 10:36 pm
Posts: 10
Email sent!

Hopefully they can fix this quickly... I'm dying to play SPAZ!

_________________
Work is the curse of the drinking class.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Wed 25 May, 2011 3:22 am 
Offline
Dart

Joined: Sun 22 May, 2011 9:43 am
Posts: 18
yah will do thanks for response


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Thu 26 May, 2011 4:15 am 
Offline
Shortbus

Joined: Thu 26 May, 2011 1:03 am
Posts: 4
Having the same problem. I sent the info requested by e-mail. Received an out of office reply that the person I sent the e-mail to will not have access to e-mail until the 31st... Oh well. Can't wait to play the game! Hope this gets fixed soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Thu 26 May, 2011 3:57 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:39 am
Posts: 1767
Yeah Mike is out of town, but sending the info is still a good idea. It will help narrow down the issue when he returns. While he is gone, the tech department is still working with the previous info they have received, so maybe they will find a fix sooner rather than later.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Sat 28 May, 2011 4:25 am 
Offline
Shortbus

Joined: Sat 28 May, 2011 3:31 am
Posts: 2
I purchased :cry: :cry: the Beta from Stardock last night, and I get the following when I try to play:

MS Visual C++ Runtime Library
Runtime Error
This application has requested the runtime to terminate in an unusual way

Then it says:

TorgueGameBuilder has stopped working

I have a G73 notebook running Windows 7 64 bit. i7 Quad Core
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5800

The file is located in:

C:\Program Files (X86)\ Indie Games\ Space Pirates and Zombies\ Spazgame.exe

I do not see anything that says .exe in there.

The download was only 139 MB; that seems odd. It looks like a cool game (watched the 45 min youtube vid); I hope I get to play it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Sat 28 May, 2011 5:27 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:39 am
Posts: 1767
Hi Kellserz,

Sorry for the crash issue. The 139MB is the correct size. Could you try the demo and let us know if it works? If it does, it is the protection mechanism that is causing the crash and we will likely be removing that later in the week.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Sat 28 May, 2011 11:59 pm 
Offline
Shortbus

Joined: Sat 28 May, 2011 3:31 am
Posts: 2
:D The demo worked! I like the game alot!! I can see myself losing a great deal of sleep, and suffering major carpal tunnel from this. This is high praise as I am VERY hard to please game wise!

Great Job to all of you! Can't wait for the full game!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Tue 31 May, 2011 3:50 am 
Offline
Shortbus

Joined: Tue 31 May, 2011 3:46 am
Posts: 1
Just thought I'd pop in to mention, that I was having this problem but I managed to fix it by going into properties and turning "Run as Administrator" OFF. No idea why it works better, I was at the point of throwing random solutions at it hoping something would work and came up lucky. Not sure if this is the same thing is causing trouble for everyone else or not.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Wed 01 Jun, 2011 9:21 am 
Offline
Shortbus

Joined: Sun 29 May, 2011 12:45 am
Posts: 5
I failed at using the search, posted a redundant thread before seeing this one.

It sure would be nice if we could get non-Impulse versions to play... 13 days is a really long time to prevent all legitimate customers from playing the game they bought.

This is a ridiculously fun game, and it sorta sucks not being able to play it because of some digital distribution platform DRM. This bug is the one thing preventing me from telling my friends to buy this game ):


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Wed 01 Jun, 2011 4:10 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:39 am
Posts: 1767
@JWill
I am pursuing this right now, so we will hopefully have some good motion here soon. Sorry for the delay.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Sat 04 Jun, 2011 12:20 pm 
Offline
Dart

Joined: Wed 11 May, 2011 2:21 am
Posts: 14
I appreciate your persistence Blorfy. I'm less than impressed with my first experience with Impulse, actually. It's SPAZ that's supposed to be in beta, not Impulse right? Looks like I'll be keeping an eye out for its eventual release on Steam, or failing that buying the release version directly from your website (which I hope you offer).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Sat 04 Jun, 2011 6:55 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:39 am
Posts: 1767
@krayzkrok
ScarletMadness, Colin and I spent all day yesterday working on a home brew activation system that does not have any crypto layer. It will require a bit of testing, but progress is good. This is the version we will sell from our own site as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Sat 04 Jun, 2011 7:29 pm 
Offline
Shortbus

Joined: Sun 29 May, 2011 12:45 am
Posts: 5
krayzkrok wrote:
I appreciate your persistence Blorfy. I'm less than impressed with my first experience with Impulse, actually. It's SPAZ that's supposed to be in beta, not Impulse right? Looks like I'll be keeping an eye out for its eventual release on Steam, or failing that buying the release version directly from your website (which I hope you offer).


I very much agree with you regarding Impulse... Come a release on steam, I might just buy it again. SPAZ is probably one of my favourite games this year, even despite all these annoying bugs (yes, it's in beta, they're expected). I think the last time I played a game in this genre was Starcon 2 (aka Ur-Quan Masters), which I replay every few years. Any game that earns a comparison with that (still) excellent chunk of gaming history deserves to be bought twice.

As of now I've been stuck on the 9.001 Hijack mission for about three days (and a few dozen tries...). The difficulty was reduced in 9.005, so I'm hoping a fix for the Impulse startup crash comes pretty soon. If I seem a bit impatient, it's only because SPAZ is such an excellent game. I think I've already got more than my money's worth, though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Sun 05 Jun, 2011 2:57 pm 
Offline
Dart

Joined: Sun 05 Jun, 2011 2:55 pm
Posts: 13
impulse used to rock, but somehow its been sold and become a crusty old whore. too bad. DRM ftl tbh, the pirated version of the game probably just works right away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Sun 05 Jun, 2011 6:47 pm 
Offline
Shortbus

Joined: Sun 29 May, 2011 12:45 am
Posts: 5
schurem wrote:
[...] the pirated version of the game probably just works right away.



It does. I bought the game, it failed to work at all on impulse. I searched "space pirates and zombies torrent," clicked download, waited an hour, clicked install, and it worked.

Pirates will always find a way to remove DRM... so all it ever ends up doing is hurting people who're trying to play the game legally.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun, 2011 1:25 pm 
Offline
Dart

Joined: Wed 11 May, 2011 2:21 am
Posts: 14
Blorfy wrote:
@krayzkrok
ScarletMadness, Colin and I spent all day yesterday working on a home brew activation system that does not have any crypto layer. It will require a bit of testing, but progress is good. This is the version we will sell from our own site as well.


Looking forward to it Blorfy. Let me know if you want someone to test it out on my "worst case scenario" PC!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Thu 16 Jun, 2011 12:19 am 
Offline
Shortbus

Joined: Sun 29 May, 2011 12:45 am
Posts: 5
Latest patch didn't fix this. Still waiting to be able to play the game I bought.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Thu 16 Jun, 2011 6:01 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:39 am
Posts: 1767
@JWill, sending you a mail now. We will get you sorted out.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Sun 26 Jun, 2011 1:56 am 
Offline
Shortbus

Joined: Sun 26 Jun, 2011 1:44 am
Posts: 1
Bought today over Impulse, had the same problem.

Found a comment while browsing a torrent site that recommended changing the .exe to Windows XP (SP2) compatibility mode.

Worked just fine on my legitimate copy of the game, fixing the problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Mon 27 Jun, 2011 7:40 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:39 am
Posts: 1767
Ahh interesting, thanks for the info. This may help others :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul, 2011 9:16 pm 
Offline
Shortbus

Joined: Sat 23 Jul, 2011 8:58 pm
Posts: 5
Unfortunately all compatability modes simply produce a "was not installed correctly please reinstall" error >_<

Love to be able to play the game soon, hope impulse gets its act together.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If game startup fails right after splash screen.
PostPosted: Mon 25 Jul, 2011 10:28 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:39 am
Posts: 1767
Just making a note to myself. This was resolved in another thread: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1491


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group