MinMax Spaz

MinMax-Games.com

The water cooler of outer space
  
It is currently Tue 21 Nov, 2017 7:10 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug, 2011 9:19 pm 
Offline
Dart

Joined: Tue 16 Aug, 2011 9:09 pm
Posts: 11
hi i am trying to get the demo to work but it crashes on start up in steam
i get TorqueGameBuilder has stopped working

i have added my dxdiag and console.log

thank you


Attachments:
console.log [3.31 KiB]
Downloaded 319 times
DxDiag1.txt [66.83 KiB]
Downloaded 276 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug, 2011 9:25 pm 
Offline
Hound
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:21 am
Posts: 1997
It seems like openGL is having an issue initializing. Do you have the latest ATI drivers?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug, 2011 9:29 pm 
Offline
Dart

Joined: Tue 16 Aug, 2011 9:09 pm
Posts: 11
i am not sure i have catalyst 10.12


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug, 2011 9:35 pm 
Offline
Hound
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:21 am
Posts: 1997
If you haven't done it in a while, chances are there may be an update. You should be able to get drivers from here ..

http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx

Hopefully that will resolve your issue. If not, let me know.

Sorry for the issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug, 2011 10:35 pm 
Offline
Dart

Joined: Tue 16 Aug, 2011 9:09 pm
Posts: 11
still crashes just installed and rebooted after updateing catalyst


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Wed 17 Aug, 2011 7:10 am 
Offline
Ranger
User avatar

Joined: Sun 05 Jun, 2011 6:25 pm
Posts: 332
Location: Norway
Spimmy seems to have japanese windows.

Do you use any japanese letters in any part of the path where the game/steam is installed spimmy?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Wed 17 Aug, 2011 12:24 pm 
Offline
Dart

Joined: Tue 16 Aug, 2011 9:09 pm
Posts: 11
no my vista isnt japanese its just the language its set to so i am able to play asian games

and no none on the path were steam is located

opengl appears to be my problem as it appears to effect minecraft and outher games useing opengl


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Wed 17 Aug, 2011 9:08 pm 
Offline
Dart

Joined: Tue 16 Aug, 2011 9:09 pm
Posts: 11
any way i changed it back to uk and not japan settings and as i thought game still dieing

is there anyway to fix opengl Richard ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Wed 17 Aug, 2011 9:26 pm 
Offline
Hound
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:21 am
Posts: 1997
OpenGL should come with your latest drivers. Are you sure you installed the drivers for your card and not just catalyst? They are different, but often packaged together.

Is your install directory not on your C-driver per chance?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Thu 18 Aug, 2011 1:46 am 
Offline
Shortbus

Joined: Thu 18 Aug, 2011 1:25 am
Posts: 8
Good evening Richard,

I too just picked up a copy of SPAZ off of Steam, and I'm sorry to say that it also crashes my machine.

There are a couple of small differences, however. In my case I'm trying to run the full game on Win7 Ultimate, 64bit (details attached).

I did not receive an error message when I started the game. A window with a black background opened and my machine completely locked up. (I needed to reboot it the hard way).

Hopefully there's something in there to help you figure out what is going on.

DtB


Attachments:
DxDiag.txt [42.15 KiB]
Downloaded 229 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Thu 18 Aug, 2011 2:27 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:39 am
Posts: 1767
Hi guys,

Can you post the contents of your console.log file please Dr.? Also be sure that your video card drivers are updated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Thu 18 Aug, 2011 2:51 am 
Offline
Shortbus

Joined: Thu 18 Aug, 2011 1:25 am
Posts: 8
Absolutely, Sorry about that... Here ya go, one fresh, still in the package, original, one of a kind console.log.

(Yes sir, I confirmed the driver was updated before I posted.)

DtB


Attachments:
console.log [2.33 KiB]
Downloaded 242 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Thu 18 Aug, 2011 3:57 am 
Offline
Dart

Joined: Tue 16 Aug, 2011 9:09 pm
Posts: 11
all i installed was catalyst and as far as i know my install of the demo is in C drive in
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\space pirates and zombies demo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Thu 18 Aug, 2011 7:28 am 
Offline
Ranger
User avatar

Joined: Sun 05 Jun, 2011 6:25 pm
Posts: 332
Location: Norway
I haven't looked through all console.log's again, but it seems like ATI Radeon 4x00 HD series keeps getting mentioned. Maybe developers should take a closer look at that series of hardware. Not sure what kind of help ATI will give developers directly, but doesn't hurt to check it out.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug, 2011 3:49 am 
Offline
Dart

Joined: Tue 16 Aug, 2011 9:09 pm
Posts: 11
any ideas on what i can try to do to fix this ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug, 2011 6:33 am 
Offline
Dart

Joined: Tue 16 Aug, 2011 9:09 pm
Posts: 11
hmm i dont know if this will help at all but its the error log i get from minecraft


Attachments:
hs_err_pid1088.log [16.44 KiB]
Downloaded 224 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug, 2011 8:47 am 
Offline
Ranger
User avatar

Joined: Sun 05 Jun, 2011 6:25 pm
Posts: 332
Location: Norway
Is this a laptop system?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug, 2011 12:32 pm 
Offline
Dart

Joined: Tue 16 Aug, 2011 9:09 pm
Posts: 11
no desktop


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug, 2011 5:47 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:39 am
Posts: 1767
@spimmy...

Hmm. Sometimes in the past it has been virus scanners causing this kind of thing... Very odd for sure. I am going to go see if I can cobble together a startup file for you to try that "may" get around this issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug, 2011 6:22 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:39 am
Posts: 1767
Ok Here is a file.

This will start your game in directX compatibility mode right off the bat. Please send me a console log after you try this. You will need to tick the compatibility mode button on the options screen if this works.

Unzip the file and replace the canvas.cs.dso with this one.


Attachments:
File comment: Place in: \common\gameScripts
canvas.cs.zip [1.64 KiB]
Downloaded 1821 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug, 2011 7:50 am 
Offline
Dart

Joined: Tue 16 Aug, 2011 9:09 pm
Posts: 11
YES!!! that worked!


Attachments:
console.log [5.42 KiB]
Downloaded 269 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug, 2011 4:07 pm 
Offline
Hound
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:21 am
Posts: 1997
Go forth mighty pirate. DESTROY AND PILLAGE!

Glad you got sorted out :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug, 2011 6:47 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:39 am
Posts: 1767
woot :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug, 2011 8:23 pm 
Offline
Shortbus

Joined: Thu 18 Aug, 2011 1:25 am
Posts: 8
Hey guys

Do you reckon this same fix might work for me, or is it a completely different issue?

I rec'd this message when my machine recovered from the last time my machine tried launching the game, and crashed...

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 4105

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: 117
BCP1: FFFFFA800AEBD010
BCP2: FFFFF88003C509C8
BCP3: 0000000000000000
BCP4: 0000000000000000
OS Version: 6_1_7601
Service Pack: 1_0
Product: 256_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\082111-53757-01.dmp
C:\Users\Dr. The BoB\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-172256-0.sysdata.xml


Hopefully it will be of some use to you... (I can also send over either of the files it lists that "help describe the problem".)

DtB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crash on start up
PostPosted: Tue 23 Aug, 2011 6:13 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri 25 Feb, 2011 3:39 am
Posts: 1767
Hmm. I don't really know what to do with this, but I would try the fix above to see. Also there should be a console.log file where spazgame.exe is located. That could shed some light on this for us.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group