MinMax Spaz

MinMax-Games.com

The water cooler of outer space

It is currently Fri 22 Sep, 2017 10:58 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: amd64 builds for Linux?
PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec, 2012 3:18 am 
Shortbus

Hi! I'm one of the HIB6 customers, with a copy of SPAZ for Linux. Unfortunately, I run only pure 64-bit systems (presently Ubuntu). Can we get a native, recent build of SPAZ for Linux? Even just a plain tarball with no installer would be just fine.

Thanks!

Post subject: Re: amd64 builds for Linux?
PostPosted: Sat 29 Dec, 2012 7:43 pm 
Developer

Hi Shadowfox,

I am still very new to Linux, and our port was something we paid to have done externally, so I need to ask a few probably stupid questions. :)

By pure 64 bit system, do you mean that SPAZ would run for you if you ran it as a 32 bit process, but you do not run 32 bit processes on your OS?

PostPosted: Sat 29 Dec, 2012 9:48 pm 
Shortbus

Blorfy wrote:
Hi Shadowfox,

I am still very new to Linux, and our port was something we paid to have done externally, so I need to ask a few probably stupid questions. :)

By pure 64 bit system, do you mean that SPAZ would run for you if you ran it as a 32 bit process, but you do not run 32 bit processes on your OS?

Correct. I have no 32-bit libraries installed on my system, and no real wish to add the memory and disk overhead (laptop hard disk--very slow) of all the necessary supporting libraries for 32-bit processes.

You may notice that, by the same token, Microsoft has differing minimum system requirements for 32-bit vs. 64-bit Windows. Somewhat unlike: I'm also running KDE as a desktop, with Qt as a primary widgets library, plus most of the overhead of all the GTK+ and GNOME libraries, because very important things like Firefox are not compiled for Qt, nor KDE. :)